About the Farm
Established in 1852, Sandy River Apple Orchard has been in the Fenton family since 1852. Frank L. Fenton with his wife Angelia bought the farm from the original settlers whom are buried in the cemetery behind the main house. In 1910 Frankís son, William Fenton, bought the adjacient farm and began to work both farms. After sitting vacant for 30 years, Williamís son Francis W. Fenton retired from the Navy and returned in 1972 to re-establish the farm and orchards. Francis along with his wife Dollie Lea brought the farm back into full production. Francis ran the orchard until his death on May 11, 2015, just two months short of his hundreth birthday. Today, Francis's daughter Carol Fenton Gilbert and husband Jim run the orchard with help from local farm-share programs. The Orchard is open for the 2017 season from September 9th through the end of October, 7 days a week from 8am to 6pm. Come visit us and enjoy all our quaint orchard has to offer!
The farms 200+ year-old barn was restored in 2012. Click here to visit the barn restoration blog.
Sandy River Apple Farm in Mercer is of the 178 Maine farms
and farm-related organizations that were chosen to be featured
in the newly-released book entitled Unique Maine Farms. Maine
Information and many photos of Sandy River Apple Farm can be found on the Unique Maine Farms' website: www.uniquemainefarms.com
Mother Earth News has invited Mary Quinn Doyle
to share the stories of Maine's unique farms in a
|Open 8am to 6pm, weekends in September through mid-October|